The Gingko Tree

DSC_0892 (1)

I always see this tree every time I go back-and-forth from work.  It was just an ordinary tree then and its leaves were still green.  I didn`t know when exactly did I start hating this tree.  It became such a bother to me whenever I pass by because its fruits always fall to the ground and become rotten.  The worst thing is the awful smell that the fruits emit.  If I were the owner, I would have cut this tree.  Sometimes, I see the owner sweeping the ground early in the morning.  But I guess I wake up earlier than her and so I have to endure the rotten fruits with their awful smell.  It went on for more than a month I think.  I didn’t even notice the transition but one day while I was on my usual walk to school, I saw a tall beautiful tree with yellow leaves.  It is the tree that I used to hate.  It stands out because it’s the only tree in the area with bright yellow leaves.  I somehow got ashamed of even considering having it cut.  Now every day as I go to school, I can’t help but admire its beauty.

This reminds me of the process of hardship in general.  We go through difficult moments when we think we are a burden to other people. But by going through the pain and difficulties of life, we come out polished as a precious diamond.  We realize we have so much strength than what we thought we had.  And if we are patient, we’d be able to see the effect of all the negative things.  If we don’t give up on ourselves, we’d live to appreciate our transformation and even become an inspiration. Just like the gingko tree, we all go through an ugly phase before we become a beauty. And if you know someone who is in a similar situation, don’t give up on the person just like how the owner of the tree didn’t give up on it.

Leave a Reply

