Matsumoto Castle

I waved my hand at the Indian man across the street.  He was wearing a huge backpack and his wife and three kids were trailing behind him.  He stopped and crossed the street again to my direction.  “The bus stop that I was referring to is here,” I said pointing to where I was standing.  “We’re actually planning to just walk there,” he uttered.  Seeing that he has children with filled backpacks strapped on each one of them, I managed to make him decide to wait for the bus going to Matsumoto castle. As the bus had not arrived, yet, his family walked to the Mos Burger restaurant which was just a few steps away from the bus stop.

I sat on the bench while waiting for the bus. I felt impatient.  I was already running out of time.  I still needed to go to two museums and it was almost three in the afternoon.  I might not make it before the closing time.  I checked the bus timetable and realized that it was a better idea to walk.  I would even be like ten minutes ahead of the scheduled bus bound for the castle.  I crossed the street heading in the direction where the Indian man was supposed to go before I waved at him.  I walked hurriedly as a skift of snow was already falling.

dscf4950

This is the facade of the Matsumoto station.

dscf4716

This is a Yayoi Kusama bus.  Yayoi Kusama is a famous Japanese artist from Matsumoto City known for the polka dot trademark in her artworks.

 

dscf4717

Matsumoto Castle late in the afternoon

 

 

dscf4734

The Former Kaichi School Building — the oldest elementary school in Japan

dscf4738

Within the Kaichi School premises

dscf4791

Matsumoto castle at night

dscf4860

dscf4875

Early morning view from my room at Richmond Hotel in Matsumoto

dscf5223

Resident swans at the castle waters

dscf5231

Matsumoto Castle early in the morning

dscf5284

One thought on “Matsumoto Castle

Leave a Reply

