SeoulO Trip, South Korea

I stared at the view from the bus window searching for signs that would make me feel that I wasn’t   in Japan anymore. There was only the greenery— not enough to give a distinctive feel of the city.  I felt bored but at least I was sitting comfortably in an airport shuttle bus bound to Seoul.  The passengers were a mix of Koreans and Asian tourists. It made me feel at ease that I wasn’t just the only foreigner.  It seemed that the trip to my destination would take more than an hour, so I decided to get some sleep.

I traveled to South Korea for spring vacation.  It was only an hour away from Japan and it was one of the countries I’ve always wanted to go to.  I think I might even have more knowledge of Kpop culture than Jpop.  Despite being one of my must-see places, I went to Seoul to get away. I wanted to be out of Japan even just for a moment, just so I could breath.

I got off at Namdaemun Market bus stop as instructed by the hotel staff where I was going to stay.  The driver seemed kind of irritated because it took more than a minute for us to find my small luggage in the bus compartment.  It didn’t bother me at all and even assured me I was not in Japan anymore. (You know how Japanese are very polite and very service-oriented.) In fact, it was one of the very few incidents that made me feel that I was back in the real world.  And I loved it!

The Seoul subway station was one of the places I felt comfortable.  I relished the noise inside the train. I liked how the ahjummas and ahjussis would claim their rightful spot in the reserved seating. I even liked how some people would slightly bump into me without the need to say sorry. I liked how they would rush into the first available seat they would see. I liked how they didn’t have reservations to sit next to each other. I liked seeing them express their emotions. I sincerely liked those things. Somehow, all those things reminded me of home, of normalcy.

I’ve been stressed for a while in Japan because of one thing. Being surrounded by people aggravates it even more. My visit to Seoul was just what I needed.  I kind of feel like some of the things that I initially love in Japan are getting on my nerves. Well, I certainly know what I’m feeling right now is because of stress. But Seoul has truly been a perfect escape, even just for a few days.

DSCF6653 (2)DSCF6712 (2)DSCF6714 (2)DSCF6754 (2)DSCF6764 (2)DSCF6728

DSCF6739
This is the Dongdaemun Design Plaza (DDP) designed by Zaha Hadid.
DSCF6753
Night view in Dongdaemun

DSCF6765DSCF6779

DSCF6797
Myeongdong Market

DSCF6803

Leave a Reply

