Nabana No Sato – December 2015

I feel like my Christmas isn’t complete without going for a visit to Nabana No Sato in Mie Prefecture.  I went on a rainy day which was what I was hoping for since I wanted to capture the lights reflecting off of the wet pavement.  It just looked alive and dramatic that way.DSC_1069I  was actually surprised that a lot of people came even though the rain was so hard.  It was difficult to take pictures with my camera so I just decided to use my cellphone.  The place was so crowded that you’d have to go through the tunnels maybe thrice (which I did) just to get a shot with few people on it.DSC_1066There were two kinds of light tunnels.  The first tunnel is pictured above.  The second one is the blue tunnel.  The second tunnel changes every year.  Two years ago, the tunnel was pink because of the sakura theme.  DSC_1047DSC_1045I wanted to go here on the 25th of December but I chose the 23rd instead because I didn’t want to be with a lot of couples.  Christmas Day in Japan is  considered a romantic holiday in which you’ll see a lot of couples go out on dates.DSC_1042DSC_1098DSC_1101

The winter illumination in Nabana No Sato is such a beautiful, magical and romantic attraction.  I fell in love with it the first time I saw it.  This is one of the places that I’ll surely keep visiting every year.

How To Go There:

Go to Meitetsu Bus Center just somewhere at the back of Nagoya Station.  You can buy a bus ticket to Nabana No Sato (less than 2,000 yen round trip) on the third floor. Make sure you ask the person behind the counter for the bus schedule so you won’t miss the last bus. Get off at Nabana No Sato bus stop.  The entrance fee costs 2,100 yen. You will be given a ticket with a 1,000 worth of gift certificate which you can use to purchase anything from the stores inside the area.

Leave a comment